CCB Academy

CCB Academy, founded in September 2010, is the newest member of the Cologne Concert Brass family. What started as a stop-gap between Young CCB and our concert band Cologne Concert Brass, it soon developed into an ensemble with a momentum and an identity of its own.

In its first year, 2011, CCB Academy already performed its first concerts as well as taking over part of CCB's concert program. Highlight of the band's short history is undoubtedly taking part in the German Brass Band context 2012 in Coesfeld. Starting in the mid-section, this was the band's first experience on the German Brass Band scene and in front of an international jury of experts. The performance was very well received, even if it wasn't quite enough for a place on the winner's stage. The first stepping-stone in the band's ambitious development has been laid, and the next contest is already planned.

CCB Academy is delighted to welcome new players at any time. Advanced players on all brass instruments are invited. The sometimes strict Brass Band regulations don't apply - anyone can join in, regardless of the band's size and the type of instrument. For instance, trumpet, french horn or German tenor hron players are very welcome. Give it a go !

As delighted as we are to see new faces, we are also proud to Academy has been able to cement its place alongside the other two CCB ensembles. A number of players from Young CCB have already “graduated” into the Academy, and some Cologne Concert Brass players welcome the opportunity to play regularly in CCBA as well.

All this makes CCB Academy a fascinating band, which has found its feet but still has that sense of freshness and excitement. We can't wait to see what hte future holds for this wonderful band.

CCB Academy is conducted by Kathrin Simons.

Frontrow Cornets

Benedikt Rust (Principal), Lorin Smith (Solo), Daniel Moos (Solo)

Backrow Cornets

Jana Braunsburger (Soprano), Céline Schwarz (Repiano), Gereon Haas (Cornet), Niels Rauland (Cornet),

Horns

Jürgen Vanselow (Flugelhorn), Franz Neubauer (Solo Horn), Anselm Rogmans (2nd Horn), Thilo Gräwe (3rd Horn)

Euphoniums/Baritons

Lena Bussmann (Solo Euphonium), Dion Smith (2nd Euphonium), Maike Gerhold (Solo Bariton), Matthias Heidelbach (2nd Bariton) Christiane Birth-Rothert (2nd Bariton)

Trombones

Martin Barth (1st Trombone), Christoph Kath (2nd Trombone), Ralf Gerhold (Bass Trombone)

Basses

Colin Smith (Eb), Jonas Gräwe (Eb),

Percussion

Jochen Hubmann

CCB Academy

Die im September 2010 gegründete CCB Academy ist das jüngste Mitglied in der CCB-Familie. Was ursprünglich als Bindeglied zwischen Young CCB und Cologne Concert Brass begann, hat sich unter der Leitung von Martyn Bennett in kürzester Zeit zu einem eigenständigen Ensemble entwickelt.

Bereits im Jahr 2011 bestritt die CCB Academy eigene Auftritte und übernahm Teile der CCB-Konzertprogramme. Highlight der noch jungen Bandgeschichte ist aber sicherlich die Teilnahme an den Deutschen Brass Band Meisterschaften 2012 in Coesfeld. In der Mittelstufe konnte sich das Orchester erstmalig der deutschen Brass-Band-Szene sowie einer internationalen Fachjury präsentieren und erhielt große Anerkennung. Auch wenn es knapp nicht für einen Platz auf dem Podest gereicht hat, wurde in Coesfeld ganz sicher der Grundstein für eine ambitionierte Weiterentwicklung gelegt. Die nächsten Wettbewerbsteilnahmen sind bereits gebucht.

Dabei freut sich die Academy jederzeit über Verstärkung. Fortgeschrittene Spieler auf allen Blechblasinstrumenten sind herzlich willkommen. Entgegen der für Brass Band üblichen Reglementierungen, kann bei uns jeder mitspielen: unabhängig von der derzeitigen Besetzung und der Art des Instruments. Es dürfen sich also beispielsweise auch gerne Trompeten-, Waldhorn- oder Tenorhornspieler melden. Nur Mut!

So sehr wir uns über neue Spieler freuen, so stolz sind wir aber auch, dass sich die Academy neben den beiden anderen CCB-Ensembles etablieren konnte. Einige Mitglieder aus Young CCB sind bereits in die Academy „hineingewachsen“ und auch Mitspieler von Cologne Concert Brass nutzen regelmäßig die Möglichkeit, um mit CCBA zu musizieren.

Dies alles macht die Academy zu einem spannenden Ensemble, das mittlerweile zwar auf eigenen Füßen steht, sich aber auch immer noch in der Aufbruchphase befindet. Wir freuen uns auf eine musikalische Zukunft mit einer tollen Band.

Die CCB Academy wird dirigiert von Kathrin Simons.

Frontrow Cornets

Matthias Wieners (Principal), Sonja Hanebaum (Solo), Lorin Smith (Solo), Andy Wooler (Solo), Xristina Kastori (Solo)

Backrow Cornets

Jana Braunsburger (Soprano), Claudia Rittich-Wagner (Repiano), Gereon Haas (Cornet), Niels Rauland (Cornet), Daniel Moos (Cornet)

Horns

Jürgen Vanselow (Flugelhorn), Franz Neubauer (Solo Horn), Anselm Rogmans (2nd Horn), Thilo Gräwe (3rd Horn)

Euphoniums/Baritons

Lena Bussmann (Solo Euphonium), Dion Smith (2nd Euphonium Bariton), Maike Gerhold (Solo Bariton), Matthias Heidelbach (2nd Bariton)

Trombones

Martin Barth (1st Trombone), Christoph Kath (2nd Trombone), Swen Danieli (Bass Trombone)

Basses

Colin Smith (Eb), Christian Lang (Bb), Roland Rittich (Bb)

Percussion

Jochen Hubmann