Cologne Concert Brass

Cologne Concert Brass (CCB) started in 1997 as a one-off project culminating in a single concert. However, the enthusiasm of both the players and the audience soon made it clear that this was the basis for a long-term musical development. In 1999, the band was founded and formally registered.

Since then, Cologne Concert Brass has constantly extended its repertoire and has developed into a mature and well-recognized German Brass Band. The current line up includes players from all parts of the world, giving the band an unmistakable international character.

Since 2004, the band has been conducted by Heinrich Schmidt, one of the most experienced German Brass Band conductors, whose enormous energy and commitment has helped the band to reach its current status. In the National Brass Band Championshps to date, CCB has been winner of the second section on four occasions and finished 2nd and 4th after moving to the first section in 2014. In addition, the band has earned a strong international reputation through its regular participation at contests in Benelux and England.

The aim of Cologne Concert Brass is to provide ambitious musicians in the Cologne area with the opportunity to excercise their musical skills and love for music on a high level.

Conductor

Cologne Concert Brass is conducted by Heinrich Schmidt.

Frontrow Cornets

Kathrin Simons (Principal) Sven-Mario Alisch (Solo) Pauline Nobes (Solo) Andrew Wooler (Solo)

Backrow Cornets

Christoph Turwitt (Soprano) Chris Gillum (Repiano) Jürgen Vanselow (2nd) Matthias Wieners (2nd) Céline Schwarz (3rd) Tabea Alius (3rd)

Horns

Benedikt Rust (Flugelhorn) Ansgar Mues (Flugelhorn) Ruben Schmidt (Solo) Fritz Behringer (1st) Birgit Bernhard (2nd)

Euphoniums/Baritons

Stephan Brunner (Solo Euph) Benedikt Blome (Solo Euph) Thorsten Steinhaus (2nd Euph) Lena Bussmann (Solo2nd Barion) Swen Danieli (2nd Bariton)

Trombones

Yoshiki Matsuura (Solo) Horst Pramschiefer (2nd) Jannes Drost-Tenfelde (Bass)

Basses

Johannes Ankele (Eb) Karl Breuer (Eb) Christian Lang (Bb) Thomas Ketteler-Eising (Bb)

Percussion

Jochen Hubmann

Cologne Concert Brass

Cologne Concert Brass (CCB) wurde 1997 als Jahresprojekt zur Vorbereitung eines einzelnen Konzertes gegründet. Schnell war jedoch klar, dass es angesichts der Begeisterung, sowohl von Seiten der Musiker als auch des Publikums, nicht dabei bleiben konnte. 1999 erfolgte die Gründung eines Vereins.

Seitdem erweiterte und erneuerte CCB sein Repertoire konstant und entwickelte sich zu einer ausgereiften und anerkannten deutschen Brass Band, deren Besetzung mit Instrumentalisten aus allen Teilen der Welt inzwischen ausgesprochen internationalen Charakter hat.

Seit 2004 steht die Band unter der musikalischen Leitung von Heinrich Schmidt, einem der erfahrensten Brass-Band-Dirigenten in Deutschland, der mit seinem enormen Engagement der Band zu ihrer aktuellen Position verholfen hat. Bei den Deutschen Brass-Band-Meisterschaften gewann CCB vier Mal den ersten Platz in der Oberstufe und erreichte den 2. und 4. Platz nachdem sie in die Höchststufe wechselte. Zudem konnte man sich bei zahlreichen Wettkämpfen in den Beneluxstaaten und England auch international einen Namen machen.

Ziel von Cologne Concert Brass ist es, ambitionierten Laien im Kölner Raum eine Möglichkeit zu geben, ihre instrumentalen Fähigkeiten und ihre Liebe zur Musik auf möglichst hohem Niveau zu praktizieren.

Dirigent

Cologne Concert Brass wird dirigiert durch Heinrich Schmidt.

Frontrow Cornets

Kathrin Simons (Principal)
Sven-Mario Alisch (Solo)
Pauline Nobes (Solo)
Andrew Wooler (Solo)

Backrow Cornets

(Soprano)
Chris Gillum (Repiano)
Sarah Ewing-Schmidt (Repiano/2nd)
Jürgen Vanselow (2nd)
Matthias Wieners (2nd)
Céline Schwarz (3rd)
Tabea Alius (3rd)

Horns

Ansgar Mues (Flugelhorn)
Ruben Schmidt (Solo)
Lauren Whiteehead (Soli/1st)
Fritz Behringer (1st)
Birgit Bernhard (2nd)

Euphoniums/Baritons

Benedikt Blome (Solo Euph)
Thorsten Steinhaus (2nd Euph)
Stephan Brunner (Solo Bariton)
Lena Bussmann (Solo\2nd Barion)
Swen Danieli (2nd Bariton)

Trombones

Yoshiki Matsuura (Solo)
Horst Pramschiefer (2nd)
Jannes Drost-Tenfelde (Bass)

Basses

Johannes Ankele (Eb)
Karl Breuer (Eb)
Christian Lang (Bb)
Thomas Ketteler-Eising (Bb)

Percussion

Jochen Hubmann